Operational Hours Mon - Fri: 8:00AM - 4:30PM
Information information@medicalschemes.co.za
+27 86 112 3267 +27 12 431 0500

Press Release 16 of 2020: Minister of Health appoints new Council for medical schemes regulator

The Minister of Health, Dr Zweli Mkhize has announced the new Council for the Council for Medical Schemes (CMS), taking into account the interests of members and medical schemes.

The 15-head strong structure is empowered by the Medical Schemes Act (131 of 1998) and represents a variety of skills and backgrounds, and include experts in law, finance, actuarial sciences, economics, medical sciences, corporate governance and consumer affairs.

Dr Sipho Kabane, Chief Executive and Registrar of the CMS extended his welcome and support to the new Council on behalf of all stakeholders. “We pledge our unwavering support and cooperation to the new Council, in the shared quest to be an agile and transformative regulator, to promote affordable and accessible healthcare cover.”

The composition of the new Council is as follows:

  1. Dr Memela M. Makiwane (Chairperson)
  2. Dr Aquina Thulare
  3. Ms Diane R. Terblanche
  4. Dr Hlupheka H. Mukhari
  5. Mr Imran Vanker
  6. Dr Leavit T. Mkansi
  7. Mr Lusani Mulaudzi
  8. Mr Mabalane G. Mfundisi
  9. Mr Moerane M. Maimane
  10. Mr Naheem Raheman
  11. Dr Nombeko P. Mbava
  12. Adv Rodger T. Mareume
  13. Dr Sugendra L. Naidoo
  14. Dr Thandi S. Mabeba
  15. Dr Xolani Khayelihle Ngobese

The term of Council is three years from date of appointment, with one reappointment.

Download the Press Release here.


Media enquiries

Ms Mmatsie Mpshane

Acting General Manager: Stakeholder Relations

071 371 5667



Customer Care Centre: 0861 123 267

Email:  information@medicalschemes.co.za